An "in-game ban", not given by ROBLOX staff but instead by game owners, only restricts the player's access to a specific game. But players with in-game bans still have full access to the ROBLOX website and all other games. Banning on places for no reason is against the ROBLOX Community Guidelines.
Many users who have created a new account state that their previous account has been banned for no apparent reason. The mobile app has been known to do that. Some mobile users try to log in to their account, but it says that it can't connect. Then it comes to a screen saying that they are permanently banned. Some users have been banned because their "parent" emailed ROBLOX to ban them. They probably don't do that because some users use their own email to sign up.
Users who violate ROBLOX's Terms of Service will be given one of these reprimands. They range from a stern reminder to follow ROBLOX's guidelines to having the user's IP permanently blocked from the ROBLOX service. Some ban levels are not present in a user's moderation history.
|Type of Ban||Description||Images|
|Forum ban (Postwipe)
A.K.A Content Deleted
All of the player's forum posts are replaced with the string [ Content Deleted . This does not prevent them from creating new posts. However, a moderation action can (and usually does) occur after the player's posts become [ Content Deleted ].
|Error 0x1||A user tries playing a game but they get an error saying "Roblox cannot startup. User code = 0x1." These "bans" are commonly given out to players who have created adult material.|
This moderation action reminds players to follow the rules of ROBLOX. No account suspension occurs. Reminders typically occur for new users and minor violations of ROBLOX's Terms of Service. This particular level of "ban" is known to disconnect users from a game they're currently in. This type of ban is no longer used.
This moderation action is similar to a reminder (as a second warning). It warns users to follow the ROBLOX Terms of Service. Warnings occur for slightly more serious violations of the Terms of Service or for repeated reminders.
|1 day ban||
The player's account is banned from using ROBLOX for one day (24 hours).
|3 day ban||
The player's account is banned from using ROBLOX for three days. (72 hours)
|1 week (7 day)
The player's account is banned from using ROBLOX for seven days (1 week).
(14 day) ban
|The player's account is banned from using ROBLOX for fourteen days (two weeks). The player is warned that any subsequent violations of the ROBLOX Terms of Service will result in an account deletion.|
The player's account is permanently banned from using ROBLOX. Users who try to view a terminated player profile will see Page cannot be found or no longer exists (a 404 error). Serious or repeated violations of the Terms of Service and/or violation of federal law will result in an account deletion. The only possible way to remove a deleted player from your friends list is to get Google Chrome, wait for "User has been restricted" and unfriend.
|Poison ban||The player's account is deleted, and new account creation is disabled. All active users on the deleted player's specific IP address or linked to the deleted player's email have also been deleted. Unlike an IP ban, poisoned users are allowed to enter the ROBLOX website and play as a guest or log into an account that is not linked to the email of the deleted player.|
This type of ban is reserved for severe violations of the Terms of Service or federal law. All players on this IP Address are blocked for 7 days (1 week), meaning that they will redirect to Code 403. This ban occurs when a player gets 5 accounts deleted. Sometimes you cannot be banned from the website. However, sometimes you don't have permission to view a page on the ROBLOX website.
|Unauthorized credentials ban (Permanent IP)||This is the most powerful ban a user can receive. All players on this IP address are permanently blocked. This is most likely by sending an appeal to firstname.lastname@example.org to see the appealing ban rules and having another account deleted.|
Bans and exploiting
Exploiting is a violation of the Terms of Service and can result in moderation action. For this reason, exploiters commonly do their business exploiting on alternate or guest accounts. Because of this, it is very difficult to capture an exploiter. However, there are methods developers can employ to identify exploiters. For instance, on Shedletsky's Sword Fight on the Heights, Shedletsky created a badge that is unobtainable through regular gameplay; users who exploit to obtain this badge are instantly identified and banned.
Appeals and other reasons to contact ROBLOX
Users are encouraged to appeal a moderation action through an email to email@example.com. If the moderation action is deemed to be unfair, it can be lifted. Many users believe that the ROBLOX appeals system is unfair, because appeals have approximately a 1% chance of being accepted for account deletions. Some users believe that users who purchase a premium membership are more likely to have a ban appealed, although this has not been proven. If the player does not appeal within 1 month, then the account is no longer allowed to be reopened.
Players with a premium membership who are banned receive an additional notification when their accounts are banned. This notification identifies when the player's ROBLOX membership will expire and how to contact ROBLOX if the player wants to cancel his/her membership for the duration of his/her ban.
- Some users claim to have been banned for no logical reason. A rumor spread throughout 2011–2013 noted that moderator MSE6 (now scandaxal) bans users for no reason, such as for being Christian. B1tsh1ft has been rumored to ban users who post a topic within the wrong subforum. After b1tsh1ft was fired, the rumor spread to a new mod, EliteEinherjar.
- Using a proxy or other means of changing an IP address in order to access one's terminated account or create a new unbanned account will result in the poison of that IP address and any accounts created by the proxy will be deleted.
- On January 15, 2014, a bug gave users access to terminated account profiles. Moderators initially claimed that the bug was a new update. However, Arbolito, a ROBLOX user, confirmed that this was an error with ROBLOX's programming and was later nullified.